What is the rising action in Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

There are many theories of dramatic structure that include "rising action." For the sake of this answer, I will use Freytag's Pyramid, specifically, to analyze the plot of this story. In Freytag's Pyramid, there are five segments to consider: exposition, rising action, climax, falling action, and conclusion. The rising action is defined as the portion of the plot that builds up to the climax. During the rising action, the author builds on initial exposition by using developing relationships, twists and turns, and various conflicts that lead the reader to the climax of the story: i.e. when all of these elements come to a head.

In Mildred D. Taylor's Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry

(The entire section contains 2 answers and 349 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

Start your 48-hour free trial to unlock this answer and thousands more. Enjoy eNotes ad-free and cancel anytime.

Start your 48-Hour Free Trial
Approved by eNotes Editorial Team