You Can't Go Home Again by Thomas Wolfe

Start Your Free Trial

What is the exposition, rising action, climax, falling action, and resolution in You Can't Go Home Again by Thomas Wolfe?

Expert Answers info

JJ Botta, J.D. eNotes educator | Certified Educator

briefcaseCollege Professor, Professional Writer

bookB.A. from Seton Hall University

bookM.A. from California State University

bookJ.D. from New York Law School

calendarEducator since 2020

write114 answers

starTop subjects are Literature, History, and Law and Politics

At his death, author Thomas Wolfe (1900–1938) left behind voluminous writings and manuscripts in a style that might be called “autobiographical fiction.” You Can’t Go Home Again is an edited version of his writings, published posthumously in 1940. The work is divided into seven books crafted into a single story that can be summed up by his famous quote reflected in the title of his classic:

And he knew now, as he had never known before, the priceless measure of his loss... He saw now that you can't go home again—not ever. There was no road back.

Determining the literary elements of exposition, rising action, climax, falling action, and resolution that unify the plot in this novel requires an examination of all seven books.

The exposition is a literary device used to supply the reader with essential background information about characters, events, and settings. This information is found in book 1 as protagonist George Webber returns to his childhood home town to attend a funeral:

From his...

(The entire section contains 915 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

check Approved by eNotes Editorial

Ask a Question