What are the important events that happen at each age level in the book The Giver? The age groups include 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, and 12.

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

There are different events that happen at various stages and they are revealed at different times throughout the book.  Age one of course is the naming and the assignment of families.  The "rite of passage" seems to be the receiving of bicycles at age nine- second only to the ceremony of twelve where the members are given their life vocational assignments.  Age ten gives the children different hairstyles.

One of the least talked about, but more interesting ones is the back-buttoning jacket at age four and the front-buttoning jacket at age seven.  The first is to teacher interdependence while the latter shows independence.

Age eleven has only minor changes with new clothing styles and special undergarments for the females.

Three seems at be an important age as it marks correct acquisition of language and dream telling.

Age eight begins volunteer hours.

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team
Soaring plane image

We’ll help your grades soar

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial