Expert Answers
ladyvols1 eNotes educator| Certified Educator

The highest-level factors of a hierarchical taxonomy are sometimes called the “Big Five” personality traits. P.T.Costa Jr and  R.R. McCrae were two big proponents of this theory.   The list consists of Extraversion which refers to a person’s willingness or lack of willingness to be social. People are usually considered to be introverted or extroverted.  Another trait in the big five is conscientiousness.  The trait of being conscientious has its foundation on how seriously people take their responsibilities and commitments.   Along with this trait, the personality trait of agreeableness leans on the concept of how badly people want to please other people or the lack of desire to please others.  A person’s emotion stability is also known as Neuroticism, and describes how much or how strongly a person leans toward nervousness or depression.  Finally, the trait of openness or intellectual abilities describes how open a person is to trying new things or how willing a person is to accept new concepts.

"The Five Factor Model is a purely descriptive model of personality, but psychologists have developed a number of theories to account for the Big Five."

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question