Expert Answers
copelmat eNotes educator| Certified Educator

The Princess Diaries is a series of novels within the Young Adult Fiction genre. Because each novel is divided into journal entries rather than chapters they can also be labeled epistolary novels. Currently, there are ten novels in the series. Meg Cabot, the author, has suggested that this tenth book will be the last; however, she has also suggested the characters may appear in other novels as well.

The books contain--and are often criticized for containing--a plethora of references to popular culture. Current, movies, music artists, fashion, and fads all play important roles in both the plots and character development within each novel.

Read the study guide:
The Princess Diaries

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question