What four countries make up the core region of Russia and the Near Abroad

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Russia is its own sovereign nation; it is not composed of other independent countries. It does have four semi-autonomous regions, or okrugs. These are Nenetsia, Yamalia, Khanty Mansi, and Chukotka. These are remote regions located within the borders of the Russian Federation that operate more or less independently.

The Near Abroad is a term that refers to the former Soviet states that became independent after the fall of the Soviet Union at the end of 1991. There are fourteen countries other than Russia that were part of the Soviet Union. They include the following: the Central Asian nations of Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Kyrgyzstan, and Tajikistan; the Baltic states of Lithuania, Estonia, and Latvia; the Caucasus Mountain countries of Georgia, Armenia, and Azerbaijan; and the Eastern Slavic states of Belarus, Ukraine, and Moldova. Russia still considers these countries part of its sphere of influence and frequently asserts its political, social, and economic influence over them.

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team

We’ll help your grades soar

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial