What are five main events in "The Most Dangerous Game?"

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

"The Most Dangerous Game," also known as "The Hounds of Zaroff," is a short story written by Richard Connell with details the tale of Sanger Rainsford, a big-game hunter who falls off a yacht while on the way to hunt jaguars in Rio de Janeiro. He then engages in a cat-and-mouse chase with the bloodthirsty General Zaroff as a result. 

The five main events of the story are as follows:

1. While attempting to get a better view of Ship-Trap Island, Rainsford falls off the yacht's rail and into the open water.

2. Rainsford swims to the shore of Ship-Trap Island, where he meets General Zaroff, learns of the man's history, and discovers that he himself is the next target of the hunt. 

3. Zaroff hunts Rainsford over the span of a few days.

4. In order to avoid being trapped and killed by Zaroff and his hounds, Rainsford leaps off a cliff and into the sea.

5. Rainsford makes his reappearance, revealing that he had swum around the island. He fights Zaroff and kills him. 

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team
An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

I agree with most of the other answer posted, with one obvious difference.

1. Rainsford falls off the yacht and swims to shore.

2. Rainsford meets Zaroff and finds out that he will be tomorrow's headline event (he'll be hunted!)

3. Rainsford is hunted over the span of a day or two.

4. Rainsford chooses to leap off the cliff (I consider this the climax, but there is much disagreement on this issue.)

5. Rainsford confronts and kills Zaroff.

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team
Soaring plane image

We’ll help your grades soar

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial