What are the expressed powers of the government?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

The expressed powers of the United States government are those that are specifically listed in the Constitution. These powers apply to Congress, the President, or the Supreme Court. For example, the Constitution states that Congress has the right to tax us. Taxation was a major factor in our dissatisfaction with Great Britain. The federal government under the Articles of Confederation was not able to tax us. This proved to be a weakness and was corrected in the Constitution.

Another expressed power is that Congress can declare war against other countries. The President must ask Congress for a declaration of war.

There are several other powers specifically granted to Congress by the Constitution. Congress can borrow money and regulate both interstate trade and foreign trade. Congress also can establish a court system.

The President has specific powers granted in the Constitution. The President can negotiate treaties. Of course, any negotiated treaty must be approved by two-thirds of the Senate. The President is also the Commander-in-Chief of our military.

The Supreme Court may hear cases involving all laws of the country and cases dealing with the Constitution.

There are several expressed powers granted in the Constitution.

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team

We’ll help your grades soar

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial