What is the exposition, rising action, climax, falling action, and resolution in Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury?

Expert Answers
teacher2011 eNotes educator| Certified Educator

Let’s see if I can help guide you through this. The exposition of the novel is essentially the beginning when we find out who the characters are and what they are all about. We also learn the where and when of the setting. Give a brief description of what you learn about the characters and the setting in the first couple of chapters.


The rising action includes the series of conflicts Montag faces throughout the story. Initially, Montag has a lot of internal conflicts and later he experiences conflicts that are more external.


The climax is the absolute, highest moment of excitement/suspense in the story. Ask yourself what the greatest moment of suspense is for Montag. Think about the final conflicts between Montag, the Mechanical Hound, and his city. After this, conflict for Montag begins to decline.


Falling action is basically the few events that occur after the climax. Think about Montag’s retreat to the country.


In the resolution, we learn how the story wraps up. What is Montag intending to do after as the book ends? Think about the bang of vagabonds Montag meets and their mission. What do we have hope for at the end of F. 451. There is hope to start again.

Read the study guide:
Fahrenheit 451

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question