What are twelve  major events in chronological order in To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

1. Dill arrives in Maycomb to spend the summer with his aunt and befriends Jem and Scout. The children become close friends and the boys are fascinated by the rumors surrounding Boo Radley.

2. Scout has a rough first day at school, which leads to Atticus teaching her an important lesson on perspective.

3. The children embark on a nighttime raid by trespassing into the Radley yard and attempting to get a look at Boo through a window.

4. Atticus tells the children that it is considered a sin to kill a mockingbird while they are playing with their air rifles. Miss Maudie then elaborates on Atticus's comment by telling the children that mockingbirds are defenseless, innocent beings that spread joy.

5. Atticus shoots and kills a rabid dog named Tim Johnson in the middle of the street, which astonishes and impresses his children.

6. Jem and Scout learn about real courage from their experience with Mrs. Dubose, who managed to conquer her morphine addiction before she died.

7. Scout and Jem attend First...

(The entire section contains 2 answers and 609 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

Start your 48-hour free trial to unlock this answer and thousands more. Enjoy eNotes ad-free and cancel anytime.

Start your 48-Hour Free Trial
Approved by eNotes Editorial Team