What are the eight levels of taxonomy classification, from general to specific?

Expert Answers
enotechris eNotes educator| Certified Educator

Carolus Linnaeus (1707-1778), a Swedish Naturalist, devised the Latin naming system for living organisms known as Binomial Nomenclature.  Its major classifications, from general to specific, are Kingdom, Phylum (or with plants, Division), Class, Order, Family, Genus, and Species.  One of the far reaching results of Linnaeus' classification was the establishment of the concept of the "Tree of Life" which allowed other scientists to begin studies in comparative anatomy, which lead to the evolutionary theories of English naturalists Charles Darwin (1809-1882) and Alfred Wallace (1823-1913).

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question