What is each of the four sections of In Cold Blood by Truman Capote about?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

In Cold Blood by Truman Capote is a narrative history about the murder of the Clutter family in Holcomb, Kansas in 1959. In the first part, "The Last to See them Alive," Capote describes the members of the Clutter family, a prosperous and devout farm family. Herb, the father; Kenyon, the son; Nancy, the daughter; and Bonnie, the mother (who is confined to her bed with a nervous disorder). Two older daughters are married and live away from home. The section also contains a description of the murderers, Perry Smith and Richard "Dick" Hickock. They were recently released from jail in Kansas, and one of Dick's cellmates had told him about Herb Clutter and had misinformed him that Herb kept a great deal of money in his house. At the end of the section, the killers arrive at the Clutter's house, and the bodies are discovered in the morning. Capote does not describe the murders in the first section.

In the second section, "Persons Unknown," the chief inspector involved in the murder, Alvin Dewey,...

(The entire section contains 583 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

Start your 48-hour free trial to unlock this answer and thousands more. Enjoy eNotes ad-free and cancel anytime.

Start your 48-Hour Free Trial
Approved by eNotes Editorial Team