What is district 12 in The Hunger Games?

Expert Answers
chelseaosborne314 eNotes educator| Certified Educator

District 12 is where the main character of the Hunger Games, Katniss Everdeen, is from. Her fellow tribute, Peeta Mellark, and her friend, Gale Hawthorne, are also from District 12. It is the poorest of the twelve districts, and its main function is the mining of coal for the Capitol. The twelfth district has four areas: Victor's Village, the Seam, the Hob, and the merchant section. The Victor's Village is where District 12's victors (Katniss, Peeta, and Haymitch Abernathy) live. The Seam is the poorest part of the district, and it is also where Gale Hawthorne lived as well as Katniss before she moved to the Victor's Village; it is located on the border of the district, next to the forests (where Katniss and Gale hunt). The Hob is the black market of the district, where Katniss and Gale sold their extra game from hunting; it was burned down in Catching Fire. The merchant section is exactly what it sounds like: where the merchants lived above their shops (like Peeta and his family, who were bakers; or the mayor and his family); people from this area were noticeably different from the other members of the district because they often had blond hair and blue eyes (Katniss' mother was originally from the merchant section).

georgeasourous | Student

In the hunger games the regions where divided into districts. District 12 was known as the coal mining district. There are 13 "known districts that are talked about in the hunger games, district 13 as we are told is known to be non existent due to the fact that they were wiped out by the nobles. Everything seems to be controlled by the nobles and game makers which probably explains katniss' hatred toward president snow. so the districts represent the different regions in the hunger games.

  1. district 1 makes the luxury goods
  2. district 2 is masonry
  3. district 3 is technology
  4. district 4 is fishing
  5. district 5 is power (solar power/ energy)
  6. district 6 is transportation
  7. district 7 is lumber
  8. district 8 is textiles
  9. district 9 is grain
  10. district 10 is livestock
  11. district 11 is agriculture
  12. district 12 is mining
Read the study guide:
The Hunger Games

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question