Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Deuteronomy is the fifth book of the Torah. There are five books of the Torah. They are Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy. These five books make up what is referred to as the Old Testament.

In the book of Deuteronomy, the Jewish people are preparing to enter the Promised Land. After forty years of wandering in the desert, Moses is preparing the people for a return to the land they left when they traveled to Egypt. Moses gives several speeches to the Jewish people, telling them what they can expect when they enter the land. He also reminds them of what they have been through and of their covenant with God. Moses is not allowed to enter this land because he struck a rock, instead of speaking to it, that was supposed to produce water. He dies near the end of this book, but he is allowed to view the land from a distance.

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team

We’ll help your grades soar

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial