What countries comprise the Middle East today?  

1 Answer

krcavnar's profile pic

krcavnar | High School Teacher | (Level 1) Valedictorian

Posted on

Geographically the following countries are located in the Middle East: Bahrain, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen.  Egypt is also considered part of the Middle East even though it actually is located in North Africa.  There are other countries that are often considered part of the Middle East due to the similarity in culture, ethnicity and religion but that are not located within the Middle East such as Sudan, Tunisia, Morocco, Libya and Algeria which are North African countries.  Afghanistan and Pakistan are in Central Asia and are often confused as being in the Middle East because they are primarily Islamic countries.