Law and Politics Questions and Answers

Start Your Free Trial

What are the contents of the Federal Constitution of Malaysia? 

Expert Answers info

Roosevelt Paulsen eNotes educator | Certified Educator


calendarEducator since 2018

write324 answers

starTop subjects are Literature, History, and Law and Politics

The constitution of Malaysia, ratified in 1957, establishes the state as a federal constitutional monarchy in which Islam has a leading role. It consists of 183 articles divided into fifteen titles, labeled in the constitution as parts one through fifteen.

Part I of the constitution, consisting of four articles, establishes the basis of the state, its name, territory, and the special status of the Islamic faith.

Part II is the constitution's declaration of rights and includes eight articles that enshrine property rights, freedom of religion, and equal protection, as well as outlawing slavery.

Part III establishes the conditions of citizenship in Malaysia.

Parts IV through XI concern the political architecture of Malaysia, as well as the relationship between the center and the individual states.

The additional parts of the constitution concern...

(The entire section contains 2 answers and 389 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

Further Reading:

check Approved by eNotes Editorial

Jessica Pope eNotes educator | Certified Educator

calendarEducator since 2011

write590 answers

starTop subjects are Literature, Social Sciences, and History

check Approved by eNotes Editorial