What is Commonwealth Literature?

1 Answer | Add Yours

octave47's profile pic

octave47 | (Level 1) eNoter

Posted on

The Commonwealth of Nations, normally referred to as the Commonwealth and formerly known as the British Commonwealth, is an intergovernment body of fifty-four independent member states. All but two (Mozambique and Rwanda) of these countries were formerly part of the British Empire, out of which it developed. They comprise one third of the world's population and are in all six continents.

The literature coming out of these countries, is generally termed Commonwealth Literature.

Its main writers include, fiction and non-fiction, Ben Okri, ER Braithwaite, VS Naipaul, Ngozi Adichie, Sivanandan, Louis Julienne, JM Coetzee, Caryl Phillips,


We’ve answered 319,816 questions. We can answer yours, too.

Ask a question