What are the various stages of Doctor Faustus's damnation in Marlowe's Doctor Faustus?

Expert Answers info

JJ Botta, J.D. eNotes educator | Certified Educator

briefcaseCollege Professor, Professional Writer

bookB.A. from Seton Hall University

bookM.A. from California State University

bookJ.D. from New York Law School

calendarEducator since 2020

write62 answers

starTop subjects are Literature, Law and Politics, and Science

Christopher Marlowe’s Elizabethan tragedy, The Tragical History of Doctor Faustus, traces the damnation of the protagonist using a traditional unified plot with a beginning, middle, and end.

Marlowe commences with an exposition, or introduction, finding Faustus in search of absolute knowledge and power. In order to accomplish his goals, he turns to the study of black magic, which begins the rising action of the plot. After being granted a twenty-four year period of magical power, Faustus arrives at the turning point, or crisis, in the play when his pact with the Devil reaches its expiration point and he loses his powers. This loss launches an emotional climax when Faustus regrets his bargain with the Devil and seeks repentance. Marlowe concludes his dramatic tale with the denouement, or resolution, finding the protagonist losing his soul and on his way to hell.

The fall of Faustus begins with his desire to gain all the knowledge of the universe. His fate is foretold in the opening Chorus of the play....

(The entire section contains 2 answers and 1,100 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

check Approved by eNotes Editorial

Karen P.L. Hardison eNotes educator | Certified Educator

calendarEducator since 2009

write5,918 answers

starTop subjects are Literature, Social Sciences, and Business

check Approved by eNotes Editorial