To Kill A Mockingbird Chapter Titles

What are the names of the chapters in To Kill a Mockingbird?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Harper Lee, the author of To Kill a Mockingbird, didn't create chapter titles; she simply used numbers to order her work. Her reasoning for this is unclear, but after reading the novel, we can create our own titles based on the important events in each chapter.

There could be many interpretations depending on what you personally deem important. Lee packs several main ideas into each of her chapters, which means each chapter can have overlapping narratives and multiple conflicts. For example, chapter 8 has the first snow, the snowman, and the fire at Miss Maudie's. The chapter also contains an encounter with Boo Radley. It's up to you to decide what to focus on. Here is one list of possible options for chapter titles.

  1. Welcome to Maycomb
  2. First Day of School
  3. Walking in Another Person's Shoes
  4. The Tree, the Radley Lot, and the Game
  5. Miss Maudie's Take
  6. Close Call
  7. Truth Hurts
  8. The First Snow
  9. The Case
  10. One-Shot Finch
  11. Courage Comes in Many Forms
  12. Cal's Church
  13. Aunt Alexandra Comes to "Help"
  14. Monster Under the Bed
  15. The...

(The entire section contains 4 answers and 841 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

Start your 48-hour free trial to unlock this answer and thousands more. Enjoy eNotes ad-free and cancel anytime.

Start your 48-Hour Free Trial
Last Updated by eNotes Editorial on