What are the different kinds of love (e.g., loving oneself) explored by Shakespeare in the play Twelfth Night?

The different kinds of love explored by Shakespeare in Twelfth Night include erotic love, obsessive love, affectionate love, familial love, self-love, love from afar, and love between servant and master.

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

According to the Ancient Greeks, there are eight types of love: Erotic Love ("Eros"), Affectionate Love ("Philia"), Familiar Love ("Storge"), Playful Love ("Ludus"), Obsessive Love ("Mania"), Enduring Love ("Pragma"), Self-Love ("Philautia"), and Selfless Love ("Agape"). Throughout the play, most of these types of love can be seen.

Erotic Love

Duke Orsino's love for Olivia could be an example of Erotic Love. Eros could be applied to concepts of intense longing, desire, and love at first sight. The Duke's love is fleeting and, based on how Orsino describes it, intense. For example: 

But mine is all as hungry as the sea,
And can digest as much: make no compare
Between that love a woman can bear me
And that I owe Olivia....

Obsessive Love

Alternatively, Duke Orsino's love could also be seen as obsessive. He's more in love with the idea of having a wife or the concept of love. Obsessed with Olivia and ignoring her wish to wait seven years to court, he sends Viola (in disguise as a man) to express...

(The entire section contains 2 answers and 721 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

Start your 48-hour free trial to unlock this answer and thousands more. Enjoy eNotes ad-free and cancel anytime.

Start your 48-Hour Free Trial
Approved by eNotes Editorial Team