What are the complete works of Thomas Hardy?

The complete works of prolific English writer Thomas Hardy are expansive and diverse. Most famous for novels like Far from the Madding Crowd, Tess of the d'Urbervilles, and The Mayor of Casterbridge, Hardy wrote and published works in other literary forms. In addition to composing fourteen novels, he wrote more than forty short stories (organized into four collections), over 900 poems (organized into eight collections), and a few dramatic pieces.

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Thomas Hardy was English writer best known for novels such as Far from the Madding Crowd, Tess of the d'Urbervilles, The Return of the Native, The Mayor of Casterbridge, and Jude the Obscure. Extremely prolific, Hardy published fourteen novels, more than forty short stories, over 900 poems, and several dramas.

His novels include

  • Desperate Remedies (1871)
  • Under the Greenwood Tree (1872)
  • A Pair of Blue Eyes (1873)
  • Far from the Madding Crowd (1874)
  • The Hand of Ethelberta: A Comedy in Chapters (1876)
  • The Return of the Native (1878)
  • The Trumpet-Major: A Tale (1880)
  • A Laodicean (1881)
  • Two on a Tower: A Romance (1882)
  • The Mayor of Casterbridge (1886)
  • The Woodlanders (1887)
  • Tess of the D'Urbervilles: A Pure Woman Faithfully Presented (1891)
  • Jude the Obscure (1895)
  • The Well-Beloved: A Sketch of Temperament (1897)

He also wrote An Indiscretion in the Life of an Heiress (first published in New Quarterly Magazine in 1878 and privately printed in 1934) and the unpublished novel The Poor Man and the Lady.

During his lifetime, Hardy published his short stories in four collections. Wessex Tales from 1888 includes "A Tradition of Eighteen Hundred and Four," "Fellow Townsmen," "Interlopers at the Knap," "The Distracted Preacher," "The Melancholy Hussar of the German Legion," "The Three Strangers," and "The Withered Arm."

A Group of Noble Dames (1891) contains "Dame the First—The First Countess of Wessex," "Dame the Second—Barbara of the House of Grebe," "Dame the Third—The Marchioness of Stonehenge," "Dame the Fourth—Lady Mottisfont," "Dame the Fifth—The Lady Icenway," "Dame the Sixth—Squire Petricks Lady," "Dame the Seventh—Anna Lady Baxby," "Dame the Eighth—The Lady Penelope," "Dame the Ninth—The Duchess of Hamptonshire," and "Dame the Tenth—The Honourable Laura."

Life’s Little Ironies (1894) includes "A Few Crusted Characters," "A Tragedy of Two Ambitions," "An Imaginative Woman," "For Conscience Sake," "On the Western Circuit," "The Fiddler of the Reels," "The Sons Veto," and "To Please His Wife."

A Changed Man and Other Tales (1913) contains "A Changed Man," "A Committee Man of the Terror," "A Mere Interlude," "A Tryst in an Ancient Earthwork," "Alicia's Diary," "Enter a Dragoon," "Master John Horseleigh, Knight," "The Duke's Reappearance," "The Grave by the Handpost," "The Romantic Adventures of a Milkmaid," "The Waiting Supper," and "What the Shepherd Saw."

Hardy also wrote uncollected and collaborative stories, including "Blue Jimmy: The Horse Stealer," "Destiny and a Blue Cloak," "How I Built Myself A House," "Old Mrs. Chundle," "Our Exploits At West Poley," "The Doctor's Legend," "The Spectre of the Real," "The Thieves Who Couldn't Help Sneezing," and "The Unconquerable."

Hardy divided his novels into three groups. His novels of character and environment include The Poor Man and the Lady, Under the Greenwood Tree, Far from the Madding Crowd, The Return of the Native, The Mayor of Casterbridge, The Woodlanders, Wessex Tales, Tess of the d'Urbervilles: A Pure Woman Faithfully Presented, Life's Little Ironies, and Jude the Obscure. His Romances and fantasies include A Pair of Blue Eyes, The Trumpet-Major, Two on a Tower: A Romance, A Group of Noble Dames, and The Well-Beloved: A Sketch of a Temperament. His novels of ingenuity include Desperate Remedies, The Hand of Ethelberta: A Comedy in Chapters, and A Laodicean.

Thomas wrote over 900 poems, which he published in the collections Wessex Poems (1898), Poems of the Past and Present (1902), Time's Laughingstocks (1909), Satires of Circumstance (1914), Moments of Vision (1917), Late Lyrics and Earlier with Many Other Verses (1922), Human Shows Far Phantasies, Songs and Trifles (1925), and Winter Words in Various Moods and Metres (1928).

His most famous poems include "The Darkling Thrush" (ruminations on aging and the future), "The Ruined Maid" (about a fallen woman in Victorian society or a commentary on the need for change in moral values), "Wessex Heights" (about the English countryside), and "Drummer Hodge" (an elegy for a drummer and soldier in the British army who died the Second Boer War). This list is by no means complete!

Lesser known are Hardy's dramatic works. He wrote The Dynasts, an epic drama in blank verse which was produced in three parts (1904–1908) and two one-act pieces titled The Famous Tragedy of the Queen of Cornwall and The Three Wayfarers. He is credited as an adaptor on The Play of Saint George. His novel Far from the Madding Crowd was adapted into the play The Mistress of the Farm. Tess of the d'Urbervilles was adapted into a five-act play.

Last Updated by eNotes Editorial on

We’ll help your grades soar

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial