1984 Questions and Answers
by George Orwell

1984 book cover
Start Your Free Trial

What are the 3 superpowers in 1984?

The three superpowers in Nineteen-Eighty-Four are Oceania, Eurasia, and Eastasia.

Expert Answers info

Dolly Doyle eNotes educator | Certified Educator


calendarEducator since 2018

write1,359 answers

starTop subjects are Literature, History, and Arts

Three superstates dominate the world of Nineteen-Eighty-Four: Eurasia, Eastasia, and the novel's immediate setting, Oceania. These nations have been locked into perpetual conflict since the 1960s and this war causes a great deal of anxiety on the part of the people of Oceania, who live in fear of both foreign invaders and internal dissenters such as Emmanuel Goldstein.

Eurasia is comprised of continental Europe and Russia, while Eastasia is mostly made up of east Asian countries such as China, Korea, and Japan, though it also encompasses parts of India. Oceania territories include the United Kingdom, the Americas, Australia, and parts of southern Africa.

It must be noted that what is known about the world is provided by the Party, which has no qualms with lying to maintain social control. Just because the people are told they are at war does not mean this is actually so: the war might be a front to allow the Party to keep the tight grip they have over the country. The other two superstates might not even exist: they too could be fabrications meant to provide an Other for the people to fear so that they will not try to undermine the Party, which they see as their sole protection in a hostile world.