What are five reasons America colonists separated from Britain?

Five reasons the American colonists separated from Britain are the Proclamation of 1763, the Sugar Act, the Stamp Act, the Townshend Acts, and the Quartering Act.

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Five reasons American colonists separated from Britain are as follows.

The American colonists were increasingly angry at the burden of taxation that they were required to pay. What made things worse was that they had no political representation at Westminster by way of compensation.

Much of the increased taxation was being used to pay for British troops to be quartered on American soil. This caused widespread resentment, as it was believed that standing armies were instruments of tyranny.

American trade was regularly hampered by insensitive legislation passed by the Westminster Parliament. The Sugar Act, for example, was widely detested, as it restricted the importation of molasses, an essential ingredient in the manufacture of rum, from those parts of the Caribbean not controlled by the British.

Punitive legislation, such as the Intolerance Acts, convinced many American colonists that the British were actively seeking to undermine their cherished liberties. Americans regarded themselves...

(The entire section contains 3 answers and 807 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

Start your 48-hour free trial to unlock this answer and thousands more. Enjoy eNotes ad-free and cancel anytime.

Start your 48-Hour Free Trial
Last Updated by eNotes Editorial on