What Alliances Were Formed During World War I?

fact-finder | Student

After starting World War I (1914–18) by declaring war against Serbia in July 1914, Austria-Hungary was joined in August by its ally Germany. Together they formed the Central Powers. In October 1914, Bulgaria and the Ottoman Empire also became part of the Central Powers.

When the fighting began, France, Great Britain, and Russia supported Serbia, and together they were known as the Allies. The Allies declared war on the Ottoman Empire in November 1914, after Turkish ships bombarded Russian ports on the Black Sea and Turkish troops invaded Russia. Eventually, twenty more nations joined the Allies, but not all of them sent troops to the front. Belgium, Montenegro, and Japan joined the Allies in August 1914, declaring war on Germany and invading several Pacific islands to drive out the Germans. In 1915 Italy and San Marino joined; as fighting continued in 1916, Romania and Portugal became Allied nations. In 1917, eight more countries joined the Allies, most notably the United States and China, but also Liberia, Greece, Siam, Panama, Cuba, and Brazil. Before the end of the war in 1918, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Costa Rica, and Nicaragua became supporters of the Allies.

Further Information: First World War. [Online] Available http://www.spartacus.schoolnet.co.uk/FWWtitle.html, October 25, 2000; Martin, Gilbert. The First World War: A Complete History. New York: Henry Holt, 1994; World War I. [Online] Available http://www.cfcsc.dnd.ca/links/milhist/wwi.html, October 25, 2000.

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question