Identify a particular stage of the eight in the Tibetan Genocide.

Expert Answers
Ashley Kannan eNotes educator| Certified Educator

The denial that has been present by the Chinese government that reflects a failure to embrace their role in the Chinese genocide has been representative of one of the eight stages of genocide.  The genocide of Tibetan monks and civilians has been steadily denied by the Chinese government.  This represents its corresponding stage in the eight stages, and probably is the most conclusive in suggesting that what the Chinese did in over a million deaths in Tibet is genocide.  Monks have taken to rather drastic steps in trying to bring attention to what the Chinese government is doing in Tibet.  It is significant that recently, the Dalai Lama, spiritual leader of Tibet, refused to answer a question as to monks who engage in self- immolation to bring attention to the Tibetan condition.  The Dalai Lama recognizes the complexity of the issue, reflective of how he understands the motivation of the monks to bring attention to the genocide perpetrated by the Chinese.  It is logical to presume that the monks would not be resorting to such ends unless they felt passionately about the removing the denial of the Chinese in their role in the Tibetan Genocide, which would bring about a step towards ending it.

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question