The Crossing: Volume Two: The Border Trilogy

by Cormac McCarthy

Start Free Trial

What are five main plot points after page 75 in The Crossing?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

In the beginning of Cormac McCarthy's The Crossing, the protagonist Billy Parham is on a mission to return to the mountains a she-wolf that has gotten trapped on the ranch.  After this adventure, Billy returns to his parents' ranch to find that it has been burglarized.  He and his brother Boyd decide to go find the horses that have been stolen from their family.  This is where the five plot points begin: 

1.  Billy and Boyd find their family's horses and manage to get them back for the time being'

2.  Billy and Boyd take on a young girl who eventually becomes Boyd's girlfriend;

3.  Boyd is shot and killed;

4.  Billy meets a wise old man with no eyes who provides him with direction;

5.  Billy returns home with Boyd's bones.

The novel is based more on setting and character development than it is on plot, so the storyline seems to wind and ramble.  However, the overall focus is on Billy's growth and development as he learns important life lessons during his experiences.

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access
Approved by eNotes Editorial Team