What are the 4 main parts to the cell cycle? What happens in each part?

Expert Answers
mr-angel eNotes educator| Certified Educator

A bit more about each of the 4 main stages of the cell cycle

Mitosis can be further divided into

  • Prophase - Chromosomes become visible, spindle fibers form, nuclear envelope dissolves
  • Metaphase - Chromosomes line up in the middle of the cell.
  • Anaphase - Chromosome pairs seperate to different sides of the cell by the spindle fibers.
  • Telophase - New nuclei are formed around each grouping of Chromosomes
  • Cytokinesis - The cytoplasm is split in two, forming two new cells.

G1 - period of growth and activity.  Also, the time where the cell performs its function (ex. liver cells producing insulin)

S - synthesis - stage where DNA replication occurs

G2 - continued growth, building of spidle fibers and centrioles, both structures needed for Mitosis phase.

Hope this fills out your question a bit!

giorgiana1976 | Student

The 4 important parts are:

M,S,G1 and G2

M-mitosis is the process of dividing the mother cell into 2 daughter cells

S-synthesis-in this stage, DNA is replicated

G1 and G2-gaps-in this 2 stages, the cell is preparing itself for procces of division.