What are 25 different events from the novel To Kill a Mockingbird (in chronological order)?

Expert Answers
bullgatortail eNotes educator| Certified Educator
  1. Dill comes to spend the summer in Maycomb for the first time.
  2. Jem takes Dill's bet to run up and touch the side of the Radley House.
  3. Dill returns home to Meridian.
  4. Scout enters the first grade.
  5. Scout gets in trouble with the teacher on her first day and gets into a fight with Walter Cunningham Jr.
  6. Atticus provides Scout with advice about the importance of tolerating others, and to "climb into his skin and walk around in it" first.
  7. Scout finds the first gifts in the secret knothole.
  8. The children begin playing The Radley Game.
  9. Scout hears someone laughing inside the Radley House.
  10. The children raid the Radley's back porch, and Jem loses his pants.
  11. Nathan Radley seals the knothole.
  12. It snows--a rarity in Maycomb.
  13. Miss Maudie's house burns.
  14. The Finches spend Christmas at Finch's Landing.
  15. Scout fights her Cousin Francis.
  16. Atticus kills the mad dog.
  17. Jem spends a month reading to Mrs. Dubose.
  18. Jem and Scout attend the First Purchase Church with Calpurnia.
  19. Aunt Alexandra comes to live in Maycomb.
  20. Atticus defends Tom Robinson from the lynch mob at the jail.
  21. Tom is found guilty of rape.
  22. Bob Ewell spits in Atticus's face and threatens him.
  23. Tom is killed trying to escape from prison.
  24. Jem and Scout are attacked on the way home from the Halloween pageant, and Bob Ewell is found dead.
  25. Sheriff Tate decides not to press charges against Boo.
Read the study guide:
To Kill a Mockingbird

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question