The Thirteenth, Fourteenth, and Fifteenth Amendments

Start Free Trial

What are the Civil War Amendments?  

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

The amendments to the Constitution that are commonly known as the Civil War Amendments are the 13th, 14th, and 15th Amendments.  These amendments were passed in 1865, 1868 and 1870 respectively in reaction to the Civil War, its causes, and its aftermath.  These amendments together give African Americans the same legal status and rights as whites enjoy.

Briefly, the 13th Amendment prohibits slavery.  The 14th Amendment mandates that all citizens of the US must enjoy the "equal protection of the laws."  The 15th Amendment states that blacks cannot be prohibited from voting due to their race or to the fact that they were once slaves.

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access
Approved by eNotes Editorial Team