What are all of the seven deadly sins committed in Macbeth?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

The seven deadly sins are lust, gluttony, greed, sloth, wrath, envy, and pride. In some way or another, they all make an appearance in William Shakespeare’s Macbeth. Some are themes throughout the whole play, portrayed by one or more characters, and some are only referenced. Gluttony and sloth have a smaller part, lust wavers in the middle, and the rest of the seven deadly sins play in heavily.

Gluttony is seen in the porter, who arrives onstage clearly drunk, and in Duncan’s chamberlains. Lady Macbeth offers the chamberlains wine, which they accept, showing that they desire drink more than they value their duty to the king.

Sloth can be translated as a reluctance to work rather than simply laziness. This type of sloth is shown in the inaction of a few characters. Macbeth shows sloth when he begins to doubt his desire to be king, and then again when he does nothing to stop his foul plans. Even though he knows what is happening is wrong, he allows it and participates in it.

Malcolm and Donalbain

(The entire section contains 3 answers and 1544 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

Start your 48-hour free trial to unlock this answer and thousands more. Enjoy eNotes ad-free and cancel anytime.

Start your 48-Hour Free Trial
Last Updated by eNotes Editorial on