Kristin Lavransdatter

by Sigrid Undset

Start Free Trial

Was Kristin Lavransdattar a real person?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Kristin Lavransdatter is a series of historical novels written by Sigrid Undset, consisting of three novels: The Wreath (Kransen), The Wife (Husfrue), and The Cross (Korset). These novels trace the life of the titular Kristin, who grows up in the Gudbrand Valley in Norway in the 14th century. The Wreath introduces Kirstin as the product of a religious, loving family—the daughter of a wealthy farmer, Lavrans, and a depressed mother, Ragnfrid. She is sent to a nunnery in Oslo after a man attempts to rape her, and she eventually falls in love with and marries Erlend Nikulaussøn. 

While Kristin's tale is a compelling one—and is actually the reason for Undset being named as the recipient of the 1928 Nobel Prize in Literature—the character of Kristin is just that: a fictional character. She was not a real person living in the Middle Ages.

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access
Approved by eNotes Editorial