How many vertebrae are there in a person's neck, trunk, and low back? What are their group names?

sciencesolve | Student

The neck region, also called the cervical region, contains seven cervical vertebrae (C1,C2,C3,C4,C5,C6,C7). The first and the second vertebrae, also called atlas and axis, have special shapes and they move sustain the weight of the head and they move along with the head. The atlas vertebra looks like a ring and the axis vertebra corresponds to the inner shape of atlas vertebra.

The trunk region, also called the chest or thoracic region, contains 12 vertebrae (T1-T12) and one rib to each side. The trunk region offers protection to the heart and lungs and its mobility is lower than the mobility of the neck region.

The low back region, also called the lumbar region, contains five lumbar vertebrae (L1-L5). The dimension of these vertebrae is much larger than the dimensions of the vertebrae from the cervical and thoracic regions.

eli468 | Student
  • In a person's neck, called the cervical vertebrae, there are seven vertebrae.
  • In the upper back, called the thoracic vertebrae, there are twelve vertebrae.
  • In the lower back, called the lumbar vertebrae, there are five vertebrae.
  • In a person's trunk, call the sacral vertebrae and coccygeal vertebrae, there are five sacral vertebrae and four coccygeal vertebrae.

The pictures below shows the sections.

echo "Some images are still being reviewed.

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question