The United States Constitution grants certain powers only to the federal government. What are these powers called? 

Expert Answers
pohnpei397 eNotes educator| Certified Educator

The correct term for powers such as these is "enumerated powers."  These are the powers that are given specifically to the Congress in Article I of the Constitution.  These are powers that may only be used by the federal government and are forbidden to the states.  An example of this would be the power to make treaties with foreign countries.  The opposite of this is "reserved powers."  Reserved powers are those powers that are specifically kept for the states in the Constitution.  These are called "reserved powers" because of the reservation clause in the Constitution, which says that powers not specifically given to the national government or prohibited to the states are reserved for the states.