What are the 3 laws that decide the structure of atoms?

Expert Answers info

boblawrence eNotes educator | Certified Educator

calendarEducator since 2011

write271 answers

starTop subjects are Science, Business, and Social Sciences

It was Thomas Dalton (1766-1844) who developed the Atomic Theory, namely that matter was composed of atoms.  He felt the atom was the smallest particle.  It was only later determined that there are subatomic particles.  Nevertheless, Dalton was correct in his assertion that the atom is the smallest specific unit of an element.

I am unsure about which “3 laws of atomic structure” are meant by your question.Here are some laws that may be applicable.

There are three laws of Dalton’s Atomic Theory as follows:

1.  The law of conservation of mass:  The total mass of reactants in a chemical reaction equals the total mass of the products.

2.  The law of constant composition of compounds:  A pure substance has a fixed composition of elements.

3.  The law of multiple proportions:  Has to do with multiple products of a reaction having a mass ratio that is proportional to those of the reactants in whole, small numbers.


Three laws incorporated in Dalton’s Theory:

1.  All matter is composed of atoms

2.  Atoms cannot be made or destroyed

3.  All atoms of the same element are identical


Three laws of atomic structure are as follows:

1.  Atoms are the smallest basic unit of an element

2.  All atoms are made of electrons, protons and neutrons

3.  The nucleus of an atom consists of protons and neutrons.  A cloud of electrons surrounds the nucleus.

check Approved by eNotes Editorial

Unlock This Answer Now