Islam Questions and Answers

Start Your Free Trial

What are the Five Pillars of Islam?

Expert Answers info

pohnpei397 eNotes educator | Certified Educator

calendarEducator since 2009

write35,413 answers

starTop subjects are History, Literature, and Social Sciences

The Five Pillars of Islam are the things that every person who claims to be a Muslim must do.  These Five Pillars are:

  • The profession of faith.  All Muslims must publicly state that there is not god but God and that Muhammad is the prophet of God.  This is part of daily prayer and this public affirmation is a key part of a person’s conversion to Islam.
  • Daily prayer.  Muslims must pray five times a day. 
  • Giving of charity.  Muslims must give a part of their wealth to charity each year.
  • Fasting during Ramadan.  Muslims who are physically able must fast during daylight hours during this holy month.
  • Pilgrimage to Mecca.  All Muslims who can physically and financially do so must go on a pilgrimage to Mecca at least once in their life.

check Approved by eNotes Editorial

gelsaied | Student

The five pillars of Islam are the framework of the Muslim faith: belief, prayer, concern for the needy, self-purification, and the pilgrimage to Makkah, for those who are able bodied and have the necessary amount of money for travel.

1.Shahadda: Declaring that there is no god but God, and Muhammad(pbuh) is his messenger.

2.Sallah: Religious prayer five times a day. This is required for all muslims, and is the second most important pillar in Islam.

3.Sawm: Fasting during the holy month of Ramadan. This month is considered holy because it was the month that the Qur'an was revealed.

4.Zakat: Giving 2.5% of savings to the poor and needy. This pillar is important because it allows people to be more aware of the struggles of others.

5.Hajj: Piligramage to Mecca at least once. Mandatory if he/she is able to.

Have a good day.