Please explain the poem "The Seven Ages".  

Asked on by oindrila

2 Answers | Add Yours

pohnpei397's profile pic

pohnpei397 | College Teacher | (Level 3) Distinguished Educator

Posted on

At least 3 questions have been asked recently that should help you with this.  Please follow the links.

dnguha's profile pic

dnguha | College Teacher | (Level 3) Adjunct Educator

Posted on

As depicted by William Shakespeare, in his drama "A You Like It", there are seven stages of man's life.

1. The Infant :-The imfancy is the firat stage. The child is under the responsibility of the nurse. It cries and discharges milk.

2. The Schoolboy:-As in the  common picture, the boy of this age wants to enjoy freedom, and school represents a kind of bondage. So the boy displays reluctance to go to school.

3.The Lover:- The youth feigns the passion of love. He addresses his composition to his mistress, who might exist in his imagination.

4. The Soldier:-Jaques notes that a soldier swears outlandish oaths, wears a rough and shaggy beard, sensitive in matters of honour; and is apt to pick a quarrel and risk his life for the sake of fleeting fame.

5. The Justice:-It is a satire on the Elizabethan Justices of the Peace. It was a custom to present the judges with capons, to secure the goodwill and favour.

6. The Late Middle-aged:- The old man is compared to the pantaloons on the Italian stage--a man who goes about in slippers, wearing glasses, and a pocket on his side. His youthful breeches are too much wide for his withered legs.

7.The Old age:-This is the winter season of human life. The man is now in his second childhood with lost teeth, vision and taste-buds. He gets prepared for the world of oblivion.

We’ve answered 320,018 questions. We can answer yours, too.

Ask a question