Please explain the four quadrants?

Expert Answers
ako6777 eNotes educator| Certified Educator

I am not sure which type of quadrants you are referring to, but since this is a science question I will discuss the abdominal quadrants. 

When examining the abdomen for trauma or illness you can seperate the region into four quadrants.  This makes examination easier and assists in locating pain. The four quadrants are created when you use the mid-line of the body as the vertical line.  This breaks the abdomen into a left and a right region.  Using the belly button envision a line going horizontally.  This create a upper and lower region.  When the two lines are envisioned together four regions become apparent.  Each quadrant contain specific organs.  So when you palpitate the quadrants you can narrow down location of trauma or illness.

  • Upper right quadrant-liver (right lobe), right kidney, etc
  • Left upper quadrant-liver (left lobe), spleen, left kidney, etc
  • Right lower quadrant-right uterine tube, right ureter, etc
  • Left lower quadrant-descending colon, left ureter, etc 
dano7744 eNotes educator| Certified Educator

The abdomen is divided into four quadrants anatomically. They are the right upper quadrant(RUQ), right lower quadrant(RLQ), left upper quadrant(LUQ), and left lower quadrant(LLQ). When doctor's and nurse's perform an abdominal assessment, these quadrants are referenced. These health care professionals know which organs lie in each quadrant, so if the patient complains of discomfort in a particular quadrant this may be a clue at the underlying pathophysiology. Examples of organs in each quadrant are as follows: RUQ-liver, normally the liver is nonpalpable. If the liver can be palpated this may signal hepatomegaly.RLQ-appendix, if tenderness is present in this quadrant it may signal appendicitis.LUQ-spleen, if tenderness is present in this quadrant it may signal sleenomegaly. LLQ-terminal section of the large bowel.