What are the four quadrants of the Cartesian Plane?

Expert Answers
belarafon eNotes educator| Certified Educator

The Cartesian Plane is a method of mapping coordinates on a two-dimensional graph. The graph will consist of four quadrants divided by two lines, intersecting in the middle at a point designated zero: the horizontal line is designated "x," and the vertical line is designated "y." Movement along the x axis is either positive (right) or negative (left), while movement along the y axis is also either positive (up) or negative (down). Each quadrant is numbered as follows: the upper right is I, upper left is II, lower left is III, lower right is IV. From this information, it can be seen that only quadrant 1 contains entirely positive numbers, as the other three all contain at least one negative number.

This allows the mapping of coordinates according to points on a number line. For example, a position in the upper left of a Cartesian Plane graph may be designated (-3,10) to indicate that it is three points to the negative (left) of zero, and ten points to the positive (up) of zero. With this system, coordinates can be mapped with greater accuracy; many land maps only include quadrant I, since there is no need for a central zero point.

twin2954 | Student

The four quadrants are the quadrants that are associated with two dimensional graphing and are represented with either positive or negative numbers and useĀ  two point (x,y) coordinates.

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question