Name the two planets with no moons.

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

There are only 8 planets in our solar system, since Pluto is no longer classified as a planet. Most of these planets have natural satellites, which are also known as moons. For example, Earth has 1 moon, while Mars has 2. In comparison, Jupiter has 67 moons and Saturn has 62 moons. 

There are only 2 planets in our solar system that do not have any moons. These planets are Mercury and Venus. The main reason why these planets do not have a moon is their proximity to the Sun. If a moon were to exist too close to the planet, it would be destroyed by tidal gravity. If, on the other hand, the moon is very far from the planet, it would be attracted by the Sun and captured.

Thus, apart from Mercury and Venus, all the other planets in our solar system have moons.

Hope this helps.

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team