Expert Answers
mwestwood eNotes educator| Certified Educator

In Edith Hamilton's Mythology, Chapter I entitled "The Gods," is divided into The Gods and The Lesser Gods. Unlike other races, the Greeks believed that the heavens and earth were formed before the gods. Thus, they parented the Titans (the elder gods) and the gods (the Olympians), who were their grandchildren. The most important of the Titans was Cronus (Saturn, in Latin), who ruled all the others until his son Zeus overpowered him and seized the throne.

The Titans, often called the Elder Gods, were the supreme power of the universe for ages. They are the following:

  1. Cronus (Saturn in Latin) - supreme ruler of the Titans 
  2. Ocean - the body of water conceived as a river that purportedly encircled the earth.
  3. Tethys - wife of Cronus
  4. Hyperion - father of the moon, dawn, and the sun
  5. Mnemosyne - translated as "memory"
  6. Themis - translated as "justice"
  7. Iapetus -father of Atlas and Prometheus
  8. Atlas - the bearer of the world on his shoulders
  9. Prometheus - the savior of mankind

The Twelve Olympians [Olympus was their home, a mysterious region above the mountains of the earth, whose entrance was a great gate of clouds]

  1. Zeus (Jupiter) - son of Cronus, who overpowered his father and dethroned him, gaining the rule of the universe
  2. Poseidon (Neptune) - brother of Zeus
  3. Hades (Pluto) - other brother of Zeus
  4. Hestia (Vesta) - sister to Zeus
  5. Hera (Juno) - sister to Zeus, later his wife
  6. Hephaestus (Vulcan) Hera's son, and sometimes said to be Zeus's son
  7. Ares (Mars) - son of Zeus 
  8. Athena (Minerva) - daughter of Hera and Ares
  9. Apollo - son of Zeus
  10. Aphrodite (Venus) - daughter of Zeus
  11. Hermes (Mercury) - son of Zeus
  12. Artemis (Diana) -daughter of Zeus