Name four phases of mitosis.

1 Answer | Add Yours

gsenviro's profile pic

gsenviro | College Teacher | (Level 1) Educator Emeritus

Posted on

Mitosis is, in general terms, an asexual reproduction process, unlike meiosis. There are actually five stages or phases of mitosis, not four. These are:

  1. Interphase: This is the phase when a cell prepares itself for division and is further subdivided into G1, S and G2 phases. Interphase consumes the maximum amount of mitotic time and in this phase, the cell consumes nutrients, grows in size, reads DNA and carries out normal cell operations.
  2. Prophase: In this phase, a cell prepares to divide by condensing chromatin to form identical copies of chromosomes. Nucleolus also dissolves.
  3. Metaphase: The chromosomes get aligned along the metaphase plane, an imaginary plane located at about the mid-line of the cell. 
  4. Anaphase: This phase involves the splitting of chromosomes and the elongation of cell takes place.
  5. Telophase: Decondensing chromosomes are surrounded by the nuclear envelope, completing mitosis. 

We’ve answered 319,651 questions. We can answer yours, too.

Ask a question