What are some powers given to the president in Article II of the Constitution?

Expert Answers
Jessica Pope eNotes educator| Certified Educator
The President has the power to issue executive orders: mandates that do not require the approval of congress and yet carry the weight of law. He has the power of veto: he can reject any bill that is approved by both houses of Congress, thus preventing the bill from being signed into law. The power of veto is limited; Congress can override this power with a supermajority of 2/3. The President also has the power to appoint federal judges, diplomats, members of cabinet and White House staff. He can also grant pardons and to commute sentences or other punishments for crime. President Gerald Ford used his powers of clemency to pardon former President Richard Nixon. The President has a number of ambassadorial powers, including the power to recieve heads of state as guests of the United States, the power to represent the United States as a diplomat or ambassador abroad, and the power to consult with other heads of state on issues of international concern or collaboration.
pohnpei397 eNotes educator| Certified Educator

The main power given to the president in this article is the power to execute the laws that are made by Congress.

The president has many other powers in addition to this general executive power.  Among them are:

  • Commander in chief of the armed forces of the United States.  (And of the state forces when they are called up to national service.)
  • Power to pardon.
  • Power to make treaties.
  • Power to appoint ambassadors.
  • Power to appoint judges.  (These last three are all dependent on the advise and consent of the Senate.)

Please note that one of the president's major powers is in Article I.  That is the power to veto legislation that Congress passes.