Psychology and Cognitive Sciences

Start Your Free Trial

Explain the five needs in Maslow’s hierarchy.

Expert Answers info

pohnpei397 eNotes educator | Certified Educator

calendarEducator since 2009

write35,413 answers

starTop subjects are History, Literature, and Social Sciences

Beginning at the base of Maslow's pyramid, the first type of need is physiological needs.  These are the obvious things, like food, water, and sleep that we need in order to survive.

After we have our physiological needs taken care of, we can move on to the next level, which is our safety needs .  The world we live in makes us insecure and uncertain.  We need to feel that we know what will...

(The entire section contains 227 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

check Approved by eNotes Editorial