Parts Of A Plot

List and define the five parts of a plot.

maria-vivanco | Student

The five parts of a plot are:

1. exposition

2. rising action

3. climax

4. falling action

5. Resolution

Okay so exposition is basically the entire setup and background information needed to proceed with the plot. This includes characters, setting, history, all the background things. 

Thus proceeds the rising action. This is the start of the main problem. it'a the leading to the climax. The characters start facing problems but not the problems that requires changing like the climax requires. It's foreshadowing the climax.

the climax is that point where everything is intense and the peak of the plot so when everything is going down. This can be when a superhero is faced with. A villain and an entire fight is happening. So all the action. And major complications happen in the climax.

falling action is when the problems are in it's way of solving and the characters are facing changes and all the post effects of the climax. 

The resolution is the ending of the book where all the problems of the plot are solved.

epollock | Student


When we describe plot, most students will say that it is, "When so-and-so-happens, then,...." But it is more than a series of  events.  It is a pattern of all of the things that pewrmit the story to continue.

It wasn't until Gustav Freytag (1816 - 1895), a German dramatist and novelist first described the structure for the way stories are told in ancient Greek and Shakespearean drama. He divided a play into five parts:

1. exposition
2. rising action
3. climax
4. falling action
5. resolution and denouement

The exposition contains all of the necessary background information that is needed to understand the story. This information can include the characters, setting, etc.. The dramatic situation is usually placed here-- the conflict underwhich the charactars are motivated and their obstacles they have to overcome.

The rising action is what happens before the climax. The rising contains complications--anything that changes the motivation or obstacles of the characters: another bad guy is introduced, the hero is cast adrift to deal with new problems, etc.

The climax is considered the highest point of interest of the story. This is where all the action of the story reaches a peak. It is usually the moment of greatest tension. The crisis can be considered the complication right before the climax, or can also be used as another name for climax.

Falling Action
The falling action deals with events which occur right after the climax. These events are usually the after-effects of the climax.

This is the end of the falling action and the conclusion to the story. Denouement comes from the French word, denoer, which meant "to untie". The denouement is the "unraveling or untying" of the plot.

r-mccalla | Student

its a home work so please mark it and let me how did i do.

r-mccalla | Student

1. Exposition – to make clear the position one take on a particular subject

2. Rising action –

to use an insurgent method to explain the position taken the subject

3. climax-

to intensify to climb upward with purpose and meaning

4. falling action

- the coming down of high and intensified position (ascent)

5. resolution and denouement-

closing remarks, with mutual understanding of the position take in the first place.

atyourservice | Student

1. exposition -  This is the beginning of the story, during the exposition we are introduced to characters and the setting.

2. rising action - are the main events that lead up to the big reveal aka the climax, also where the conflict occurs.

3. climax - this is where the whole story had been leading up to, it  is the peak of the story and everything is intense.

4. falling action- occurs when the conflict is being solved and everything has started to calm down.

5. resolution and denouement - This is the end of the story, everything is wrapped up, and all the conflicts are solved (well at least for now, unless the author decides to have a cliffhanger )

taangerine | Student

The five parts of a story are labeled and defined as:

  1. Exposition: Giving a main picture of what the story is about -- such as setting, characters and their characteristics
  2. Rising Action: Where the main problem will begin to occur
  3. Climax: It is considered the peak of the story. The climax is where the most intense scenes are laid out. Such as if the character is in the middle of mental breakdown or a fight. 
  4. Falling action: Where the problem begins to resolve. Leading to the end
  5. Resolution: This is end of the story. Depending of what the author wants out of the story & what happens, the problem and how the characters live afterwards will depend on the author's intentions. 
vnessawong21 | Student

There are 5 essential parts to any plot of a story.

1. Exposition - the background of the story or events that happened prior to the story. The exposition provides the reader with the information they need to know before diving into the actual story. The exposition serves the purpose of putting the rest of the story in context.

2. Rising Action - Here the author will use a variety of techniques to heighten the conflict and tension in the story. It will slowly get to the stage where something needs to be done in order for the characters to continue living the way they want to. 

3. Climax - this is where the story is the most intense. Here the characters clash and attempt to resolve the conflict.

4. Falling Action - After the climax the author will often resolve any loose ends and begin to conclude the story. Here the reader will receive important details that are not necessarily intense or conflict filled. 

5. Resolution - The author concludes the story. This may be done in a variety of ways with the most popular having all the conflicts resolved and a happy ending. However, a story may be resolved with lingering conflicts. 

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question