List all the codons for the amino acid serine (Ser).

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

A codon is a series of three nucleotides which code for a specific amino acid in protein biosynthesis.  Most of the standard 20 amino acids have several different codons that encode for a single amino acid.  For RNA strands, the four different available nucleotide bases are A (adenine), G (guanine), U (uracil), and C (cytosine).  There are six codons that represent serine: UCU, UCC, UCA, UCG, AGU, AGC.  For the corresponding DNA strands, substitute T (thymine) for U.  In double stranded DNA, A always pairs with T, and G always pairs with C.

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team
Soaring plane image

We’ll help your grades soar

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial