What are two time sequence changes found in "A Rose for Emily"?

Expert Answers
bullgatortail eNotes educator| Certified Educator

Author William Faulkner uses many jumps in time, most of them in "nonsequential flashbacks," in "A Rose for Emily." The story begins and ends with the death of Emily Grierson, and in-between Faulkner tells the story of her life--though in a decidedly non-linear time frame. Miss Emily is an old woman when she first "vanquished" a group of town officials concerning her overdue taxes in Chapter I. Chapter II begins 30 years earlier when "the smell" developed about her house, while Chapter III reverts back a year or two before when Homer Barron first comes to town. Chapter IV picks up where the previous chapter leaves off, recalling the final days of Homer and the beginning of the smell; it continues with Emily's final years and her death. The final chapter connects the first and fourth chapters with Emily's funeral and the climactic entry into her secret bedroom.

Read the study guide:
A Rose for Emily

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question