In To Kill a Mockingbird, what chapters does the trial take place in?

Expert Answers
gmuss25 eNotes educator| Certified Educator

The trial of Tom Robinson begins in Chapter 17 and ends in Chapter 21. In Chapter 17, Sheriff Tate and Bob Ewell take the witness stand. Tate describes the location of Mayella's injuries, and Bob claims that he witnessed Tom Robinson raping his daughter. Atticus makes Bob write his signature and it is revealed that he is left handed. In Chapter 18, Mayella takes the witness stand and accuses Tom of assaulting and raping her. Her answers to Atticus' questions are fabricated, and her testimony is unclear and confusing. In Chapter 19, Tom Robinson takes the witness stand and gives an account of what happened on November 21st. He claims Mayella tried to seduce him and that he ran out of the house without harming her. It is revealed to the audience that Tom Robinson has a crippled left arm, which means it is highly unlikely that he beat Mayella on the right side of her face. In Chapter 20, Atticus gives his closing remarks and urges the jury not to let prejudice sway their decision. In Chapter 21, Judge Taylor reads the verdict and Tom Robinson is found guilty.

Read the study guide:
To Kill a Mockingbird

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question