Is Indochina a peninsula?why is it called a peninsula?

Expert Answers
hi1954 eNotes educator| Certified Educator

Geographically speaking, Myanmar, Thailand and Malaysia are part of South East Asia, as are the Phillipines, Brunei, Singapore, Indonesia, the Malay archipelago, East Timor and the three countries usually referred to as Indochina.  Although mainland Southeast Asia is sometimes referred to as the "Indochinese Peninsula" the term Indochina correctly refers only to the areas colonized by the French in the 19th century, which today are the nations of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam. The term "Indochina" itself is French. The South China Sea lies to the east of Vietnam, and the Gulf of Siam lies south of the coast of Cambodia.  Malaysia is a peninsula stretching southwards from Thailand toward Sumatra, but calling Indochina per se (the three former French colonies) a peninsula would be stretching the definition pretty far.  It would be sort of like calling the southeastern United States a peninsula because the Atlantic Ocean is to the east and the Gulf of Mexico is to the south.

krishna-agrawala | Student

Indochina is not a peninsula. I am not sure if it is called peninsula.

Indochina is a part of peninsula in South-east Asia, and no a complete peninsula. However Indochina together with Thailand  form a peninsula surrounded by Gulf of Thailand in South-west, and China Sea on South and East.

A peninsula is a land nearly surrounded by sea. However Indochina is surrounded by sea only along about half of its borders. The rest of the border is surrounded by Thailand and China.

Indochina now consists of three countries Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos. From 1800's to 1954 Indochina was ruled by France

neela | Student

A peninsula is a land which which is almost surrounded by water but yet it is connected to the main land.The term is of latin origin. Peninsula is derived from paen+insula. 'Paen' is a preffix which means almost and 'insula' stands for island.

The terminology suits perfectly well for Indochina.The Indochina peninsula includes  Myanmar and Cambodia and Laos and Malaysia and Thailand and Vietnam.

The terms ' Indochina' or the 'The indochinese peninsula' is  often used words to mean one and the same.

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question