In 1984, what are the four ministries and their purposes?

In George Orwell's novel 1984, the four ministries are: the Ministry of Truth, the Ministry of Peace, the Ministry of Plenty, and the Ministry of Love. The Ministry of Truth controls the media; the Ministry of Peace oversees war; the Ministry of Plenty suppresses the distribution of resources; and the Ministry of Love tortures political dissidents.

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

The four ministries in George Orwell's 1984 are the Ministries of Truth, Love, Peace, and Plenty. They are all named for positive values that are meant to be beneficial to society, but, in reality, they function to serve the opposite value for which they are named.

The Ministry of Truth is in charge of information as it is received by the public. This information can come in the form of education or art or news or entertainment. Though unbiased, truthful information is the most valuable kind in a democratic society, the Ministry of Truth does not have the ideals of democracy in mind as it works to disseminate only propaganda.

The Ministry of Love is in charge of any activity that relates to maintaining loyalty to Big Brother. Brainwashing techniques than coerce the public's cooperation as well as various systems of oppression are the responsibility of the Ministry of Love. This ministry's misnomer is a truly dark one as torture, grief, confusion, and a general sense of suffering is its aim.

(The entire section contains 6 answers and 995 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

Start your 48-hour free trial to unlock this answer and thousands more. Enjoy eNotes ad-free and cancel anytime.

Start your 48-Hour Free Trial
Approved by eNotes Editorial Team