Identify the three stages of children's understanding of death as reported by Marie Nagy. 

Expert Answers
literaturenerd eNotes educator| Certified Educator

Marie Nagy, in her article "The Child’s Theories Concerning Death," defines three stages of the understanding of death for children. Nagy broke her stages into age brackets: three to five, six to nine, and nine and above.

Three to Five


Children in this age bracket believe death to be reversible and temporary. Children tend to look at death as if the person is sleeping.

Six to Nine

While the understanding of death is more advanced than that of younger children, children of this age tended to personify death (think of the images of the Grim Reaper in movies). Death lives and breathes and literally takes people.

Above Nine

After the age of nine, children understand about death and the laws which accompany death.